[POEM] To let it out…

I was a can of soda today,

alone and forgotten too long in the freezer.

I didn’t realize I was carbonated,

did not understand the implications of low temperatures

putting pressure on my container.

I have been simply sitting here as the frost grew,

etching along my rim and tab.

Then, from nowhere, and with no warning,

it came.

I erupted, violently tremoring all my pent up

potential energy

outward into the chilled confines of the living room.

Curled up and alone, I cried

in little bursts

for hours.

Oh what a feeling,

what a release.

To let it out

when you didn’t even know it was there to be set free.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was still a little sick this morning, so I took a ‘me’ day. I decided to sit and watch an anime I’ve been meaning to finish (only got to see the first half of the first episode before), and it was the best decision I’ve made in a while. You know, I don’t cry much. Most of the time I don’t cry when I should. But it just builds up, that’s all. And out of nowhere, something will trigger me, and it will be in awkward places or over pitifully petty things, and I keep crying because I’m mad at myself for crying in the first place. But this show… this was a show you cry to. And it’s not a sad cry, not an angry cry, just a good, straight cry. I didn’t even realize I was at that breaking point until I started, and then it just never stopped. It was great. It was just what I needed. And now I’m a little better. πŸ™‚

The show was called AnoHana. Give it a try if you’re up for a cry. It’s worth it.

AnoHana-awesome-anime-club-30410334-1280-1024

2 thoughts on “[POEM] To let it out…

    • Thank you very much. πŸ™‚ Yes, the picture is from AnoHana. It is a wondeful series, ans only 11 episodes. You can watch the whole thing on Hulu Plus if you have it. They have a great anime selection.

*Insert your thought here*

