[WEDDING] The Plans are Coming Together

Wedding_ringsI haven’t posted an update about the wedding plans lately, so I figured I’d throw something together to bring you all up to speed.

The venue and date are set and ready. I have my dress, my colors, our song, the caterer, yadda yadda yadda. We also started our mentor couple counseling thing. The couple we have is very nice. I have a feeling next week, when we actually start talking about the marriage instead of just getting to know each other, it’s going to get very interesting to say the least. Hopefully it will all go well.  And yes, I even have most of my lovely church readings picked out. I managed to find some with absolutely no ‘god’ references in them, which was quite a task. See what you think of them.

First, I have 3 options for the Old Testament reading:

Song of Solomon 2: 6-14

O that his left hand were under my head,
and that his right hand embraced me!
I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem,
by the gazelles or the hinds of the field,
that you stir not up nor awaken love
until it please.
The voice of my beloved!
Behold, he comes,
leaping upon the mountains,
bounding over the hills.
My beloved is like a gazelle,
or a young stag.
Behold, there he stands
behind our wall,
gazing in at the windows,
looking through the lattice.
My beloved speaks and says to me:
“Arise, my love, my fair one,
and come away;
for lo, the winter is past,
the rain is over and gone.
The flowers appear on the earth,
the time of singing has come,
and the voice of the turtledove
is heard in our land.
The fig tree puts forth its figs,
and the vines are in blossom;
they give forth fragrance.
Arise, my love, my fair one,
and come away.
O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,
in the covert of the cliff,
let me see your face,
let me hear your voice,
for your voice is sweet,
and your face is comely.

OR

Song of Solomon 7:11-13, 8:6

Come, my beloved,
let us go forth into the fields,
and lodge in the villages;
let us go out early to the vineyards,
and see whether the vines have budded,
whether the grape blossoms have opened
and the pomegranates are in bloom.
There I will give you my love.
The mandrakes give forth fragrance,
and over our doors are all choice fruits,
new as well as old,
which I have laid up for you, O my beloved.

Set me as a seal upon your heart,
as a seal upon your arm;
for love is strong as death,
jealousy is cruel as the grave.
Its flashes are flashes of fire,
a most vehement flame.

For the New Testament reading:

Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
Love does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.

For the Psalm:

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

And finally, for the Gospel… yeah, I’m debating that one as well. Need to sit down with the hubby-to-be and have him pick from the bunch I have for that one. No idea about songs for the service yet… that’s going to be a tough one, unless we just go with songs we remember from youth group, which would have to include the dances! Might have to do that. 🙂

Only have a few things solidified in the decorations department; the center pieces for the reception tables are going to be (get this)… sand zen gardens!

hd-wallpapers-mini-japanese-zen-garden-wallpaper-1600x1000-wallpaperI’ll likely be making the rakes myself. They won’t have the dividers like the one above, they’ll just be straight up sand boxes with some meditative stones and possibly a few small bamboo shoots. Every guest will get a rake and can design and play to their hearts content. I’m even thinking of making them archeology digs too, and having special prizes in each one. Perhaps whoever finds a certain kind of prize wins the garden itself to take home. I’m so excited to set these up!

WINTER wedding blue 1We’re also going to have a cup-wedding-cake! Strawberry cupcakes to be exact, and likely they will be fresh strawberries and a fresh-made batter by my lovely roommate and Maid of Honor, with the help of my mother-in-law-to-be. I’m so excited for how incredibly delicious they will be. I’m still trying to make sure I’m not forgetting anything, but I’m pretty sure we’re on schedule and ready to keep going.

Lastly, we have the honeymoon location picked out. 3 days, 4 nights, with a couple days before and after to recuperate from the wedding and the honeymoon itself. It’s going to be great. I was really think that, since we don’t need anything that would typically be on a registry (honestly, we have more than enough things to supply the house for both of us, we’re probably going to have to get rid of more things after I move in), I’m going to ask everyone to just include a $20 in their congratulations card. This will go toward the honeymoon, and if anyone wishes to give something else, I’ll have a list of places to get us gift cards. If someone wants to be more personal about their gift, they are welcome. If each person who comes (we expect at least 100 of the 130-some people are inviting) gives that $20, our honeymoon will be paid off and then some. I’ve had quite a few people not outright tell me it’s a bad idea, but hesitate when I mention it. Anyone have any experience with such an idea and could let me know how it went over?

Well, it’s getting late. I’ll have more updates, but probably not until much closer to the actual date. Until next time, cheers all!

2 thoughts on “[WEDDING] The Plans are Coming Together

  1. Rana,
    Sounds very nice, and the scripture verses you are contemplating are certainly very fitting for a wedding. You could ask that they contribute all money gifts in bitcoins. (That would probably be a first!)
    Anyway, I thought you might enjoy some background info on the verses from Song of Solomon. (And you may already know these things)
    The whole book is at first blush a strange book to be in the Bible, and in fact has very clear sexual inferences that would certainly make some religious old ladies sit up in their rockers. (Why did God put THAT in there?!) Song of Solomon is a love story between Christ and the church, which in both Paul’s letters and Revelation describes this most intimate of relationships in terms of a bride and bridegroom, with its ultimate consummation occurring at the “Marriage supper of the lamb” (Described in Revelation 19:9) It is a picture of lovers who become separated, but in their separation their hearts are absolutely consumed with desire for one another. The woman (church) is dismayed at times when she cannot find her beloved (Christ), and goes through all sorts of abuse in the meantime. (See SOS 5:2-7) This represents the church in a dark world, and the continual, single-hearted persuit of her bridegroom and his for her. (Note: Jesus also spoke the parable of the ten virgins, awaiting the bridegroom – see Mtt. 25:1-13 – a very clear reference to the church diligently waiting for the return of Christ) Paul says in regard to our relationship with God in this life,
    “Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” (1 Cor 13:12) And this is what the bride, in Song of Solomon yearns for – being fully reunited with her bride and without evil and darkness to hinder it in any way. It says, “Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom. (SOS 2:15)
    The entire reign of Solomon is a foreshadowing of the Millennial reign of Christ after his return – a reign with peace on every side, and a blessing and joy to every person this reign touches (In sharp contrast to the governments we know today, which, with whatever benefits they may provide, are also burdensome to the people.) By the way, the Millennial reign of Christ occurs after the Great Tribulation, in a yet imperfect world. In fact scripture refers to it as the “regeneration”. Why? Because after the devastation of the Great Tribulation the world will very much need to be repopulated. So in this perfect reign, but where people are yet fallen, Jesus will dispense perfect justice (as was personified in Solomon’s reign), which will be necessary to the peace. (And later, God deals a final blow to all evil, as described later in Revelation, with all evil being separated forever from God’s kingdom and all who dwell there, and this long drama of the centuries, involving good and evil finally being wrapped up.) David’s reign, on the other hand (Just preceding Solomon’s: David was Solomon’s father) was a reign of war, foreshadowing Christ’s first order of business at His return – to put down all that is hostile to his rule and reign. (See psalms 2 and 110, for instance) Interestingly, though David prepared materials to build the temple in Jerusalem, God did not permit him to build it, saying that his son Solomon would build it, because David was a man of war. I believe God was showing that though war is necessary in the preparation, His ultimate heart is peace and well-being – which was typified in Solomon’s reign.
    I believe that sexual intimacy is itself is a picture, a foreshadowing of an intense, all-consuming spiritual intimacy that God desires between himself and all who are his – a kind of reckless abandonment into the throes of a perfect love. RT.

  2. Pingback: Japanese Rock Garden Wallpaper | Garden | Home Picture Furniture

*Insert your thought here*

