Tetractys Poetry Challenge: Captive

Done.

Finished.

Abandoned.

I’m left behind.

They tell me it’s for my own protection.

 

What comes from protecting an empty life?

I have become

as nothing.

Worthless

pawn.

 

Held

captive

by power,

left chained in ‘love’.

Found pining for death, they return to me.

 

They tell me it’s for their own protection.

I am released,

directed.

Freedom.

Slave.

 

Turn,

come back,

their eyes wide.

So much wonder

fills the fading glow of their expressions.

 

They told me it was for our protection.

I disagree.

It’s for my

revenge.

Death.

*Insert your thought here*

