[TEXT] – Small Talk

“…Nice boat.”

“…”

“…The current is really smooth down here.”

“…”

“Is it always this nice? It’s so calm and quiet.”

“…”

“I don’t know how you don’t get lulled to sleep.”

“…”

“…You’ve met a lot of people down here, haven’t you?”

“…”

“Well, I’m definitely not your first passenger. Man, the people you’ve met in this boat! The conversations you must have had! What was your favorite? Any really good quotes you can remember?”

“…”

“…I bet Groucho had some good one-liners. Or what about Carlin? Oh man, I bet he had you holding your ribs!”

“…”

“…Sorry… I guess I’m not much of a comedian myself… So, can you think of any?”

“…”

“Oh, come on. You’ve got to have a few stories! Tell me one.”

“…”

“Nothing? No stories at all? What, does no one ever bother to talk to you?”

“…”

“…You’re joking. You’ve been rowing this boat for every person that has ever lived, and no one has ever once bothered to open their mouth and talk to you?”

“…”

“Wow… That’s depressing.”

“…”

“Say, what is it like? At the end of the river, I mean. What’s down there, at the end?”

“…”

“…I guess you don’t really know either. Never been off this damned boat, I bet.”

“…”

“You’ve never done a thing besides row, have you? Never walked on the ground, let your arms sway by your sides…”

“…”

“Do you like being talked to?”

“…”

“I don’t want to bother you…”

“…”

“If it were me, I’d want someone to talk to. For anything, just to break the silence of this place. It’s nice for a little while, but the more I hear the nothing echoing off the walls, the more it reminds me I’m dead.”

“…”

“I guess you wouldn’t understand that feeling. To be dead. That’s all you’ve ever known.”

“…”

“You know, I’m starting to think I don’t want to know what’s on the shore at the end of the river.”

“…”

“It’ll just be more echoing silence, won’t it? I doubt they’ll look too happily at someone who can’t keep her mouth shut.”

“…”

“…Hey.”

“…”

“Will you kick me out when we get to the shore?”

“…”

“Do you think it would be okay if I stay for a little while?”

“…”

“I mean, at least for a few trips.”

“…”

“If you like, I could even row for you for a little while. I used to go to the lake and row the canoe around sometimes, I can handle it.”

“…”

“I’ll stay if you’ll let me. Well, if you want me to.”

“…”

“…I guess we’ll see when we get to the end. Or I suppose it’s the beginning.”

charon4

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I saw this new prompt from RightPrompt today, asking for a casual conversation with death. I considered doing a discussion with Mephistopholes, a modern-style version of the introductory scene from Faust, but for some reason Charon overrode that idea as I started to type. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  🙂

*Insert your thought here*

