My Life’s Playlist: Lullaby (Rock-a-by)

This is an installment of my series My Life’s Playlist.

Today, a song from my childhood near and dear to my heart, Lullaby by Shawn Mullins.

I have to say that I am ashamed I have not kept up with Shawn Mullins since this beautiful song came out in 1998. I sat by the radio for hours as a kid, just waiting for this song to play. My mother was not one to support my modern music enthusiasm, so I had to rely solely on radio to keep up. This song was not only modern for the time, but at the same time reminiscent of the 70’s and 80’s soul rock I was raised on. I reminded me of the slow melodies of Journey, Don Henley and Bruce Hornsby and The Range (another master of music who I will be featuring sometime soon).

The lyrics made me smile, while singing along didn’t bring weird stares or ridicule, so everything about this song was great while growing up! Older now, the sadness and glimmering hope of the lyrics speaks much louder than before, and a new appreciation for this one-hit-wonder brings me back to Mullins. I’ve found a few feature videos of him in a small audience studio playing some of this other pieces not so widely known, such as Light You Up, a new favorite of mine. So please, take a listen and relax to the gorgeous voice of Shawn Mullins, because everything’s going to be alright. Rock-a-by.

3 thoughts on “My Life’s Playlist: Lullaby (Rock-a-by)

    • 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one who appreciates his work! ^_^ I talk to people my own age and none of them know what I’m talking about when I ask them if they remember this song. It’s depressing sometimes. XD

*Insert your thought here*

