A Discussion on The Doctor

11th_doctor_wal_06Well everyone, it is official. Matt Smith will no longer be The Doctor. I don’t think I’ve ever shared my love for the Doctor Who series on my blog before. I began with David Tenant, a masterful actor and one of the greatest Doctors of all time. They say your first is always your favorite. But you know what? David is not my favorite. Not anymore. Matt Smith brought a dynamic to the Doctor that I cannot explain, and I’m glad I can’t. It would ruin the mystique (I know that sounds cliche, but I can’t think of anything else.) There is a tragedy to The Doctor that I have only seen through Matt’s performance. David began to touch on it. Christopher? He was just angry.

*insert River’s voice here* Spoilers! *end River’s voice here*

And now we are left to contemplate not only how Matt will bow out, but who is to take his place. On top of that, we are left to contemplate John Hurt. You know what I think? I think Matt is the last Doctor, and the story is now going to become the prequel to The Doctor, aka John Hurt and who The Doctor was before the Time War and the loss of the Time Lords. You can see all the different theories pretty well described in this Huffington Post article. Matt’s Doctor was the beginning of the end. You can hear it in his voice, see it in his eyes, and experience it through all of his adventures. Although it will be the end of the greatest series possibly of all time, it would actually be a bittersweet happiness that I’d be able to see the last of Doctor Who. I mean, you don’t want Doctor Who to get The Simpsons Complex. You don’t want the writers and creators to milk this for all it’s worth until we WANT it to end. You want them to end it when we’re still asking for more and know we can’t have it. I felt that way with Avatar: The Last Airbender. Granted, I was excited and have kept up with The Legend of Korra, but the changes between each series made it something new, not a draw-out of the same storyline and the same characters.

I understand that is part of the greatness of Doctor Who; they could make The Doctor, the main character a new character at any time. But do you really want them to keep it up forever? Do you really want to see Doctor Who for another 496 times? (If the 507 times quoted from The Sarah Jane Adventures can be called the real number.) I really don’t. I’d love to see more, but I feel like this would be the perfect ending, where The Doctor must finally face his greatest challenge; himself. It is the biggest confrontation that we’ve all been waiting to see, and I look forward to seeing it through to the end.

Cheers to you, Mr. Smith. You will always be my Doctor.

Doctor-Who-Matt-Smith

3 thoughts on “A Discussion on The Doctor

  1. Doctor Who is way too popular and iconic in too many countries for it to end anytime soon. Moffat’s even said “Somewhere out there right now – all unknowing, just going about their business – is someone who’s about to become the Doctor.” I somehow doubt this is in reference to John Hurt. And, anyway, though it might make a nice ending now… with Doctor Who there are endless topics to explore. That’s the beauty of it. It could easily go on for a few more seasons (at least) and not get old — if the writers do it right.

    • Yeah, I saw Moffat’s message just a few minutes after I posted this. XD Figures, right? And don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait for more Who! I just don’t want them to milk it dry. I’m hoping I can live to see the last of Doctor Who. It is the magic of it that it has seemingly endless possibilities, but at the same time, again, I don’t want to see them run out. I think so long as Moffat is involved, it’ll be amazing.

      My biggest hope is that Moffat somehow gets the rights to have Jenny come back! I want to see The Doctor’s Daughter again! XD

  2. Pingback: Reading Digest: Theme Park Opening Edition | Dead Homer Society

*Insert your thought here*

