Hypocrisy

We know what we are

to one another.

Miserable until we’re charred,

don’t understand why we bother

to cling at each others’ heels.

Perhaps you aren’t real.

If only my conscious mind

could phase you into nothing;

make you run out of time,

but you’re still chomping

at the bit.

Make it quick.

Catch you in the act,

bite my tongue , out for blood.

You push me ’til I crack,

my will crumbles to dust.

I cave under pressure,

consequences for good measure.

I despise you in my life,

you could not live without my faults.

I feel dejected, a lowlife,

so tired of your assault

on my patience, while you weary

of my fortitude. Clearly

we will kill each other, fall

side by side in shriveled graves.

There’s no shots called,

neither spineless nor brave,

only wallowing in worries;

mutual enemies.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A poem in response to a new friend, Sahm King, and his post on hypocrisy. A little extra to add to this idea. Hypocrisy is my most hated trait. I try every time I see myself opening my mouth to say something hypocritical to bite my tongue (as illustrated above).

As an aside to Sahm’s comment:

I disagree when people say “Only God can judge me.”  That isn’t true. Everywhere you go you’re being judged for something.  Some reasons are practical, some superficial.  Some reasons have to do with survival, some are because human beings just don’t know any better.  Regardless, you’re being judged.

My question to this is, “Do we really think that god judges, if we find it to be such a negative attribute of ourselves?” I’m not going to repeat myself, but I always seem to come back to this point; god does not hold the faults of man, so why do we insist that god is judgmental?

5 thoughts on “Hypocrisy

  1. We insist that God is judgmental because we are afraid of ourselves. We see “judgment” as a flaw, and necessarily in the providence of a “god”. It’s to avoid certain truths; that sometimes, our judgments are born of the nonsensical, like prejudices and bigotries. And that’s where we forget the practical use for judgment: survival (like judging a driver’s actions whilst crossing the street); job placement (judging a person’s character, potential work ethic, etc.); where we eat our foods (I judge the chef of the local Cheesecake factory because he or she can’t seem to get the Salmon in Miso Sauce right). Judgment helps make determinations, determinations that result in all sorts of effects. How can we make decisions without judgments?

    Great piece, Rana. Very great piece. Your poetry is on point, very excellent delivery, and nicely laced with raw honesty. My hats off to you!

    • Thank you for the insight, Sahm! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed! I do not deny in any way that we must judge, although it is probably the most painful aspect of my humanity which I try to fight every day. My concern is more that people insist that god holds us accountable for things which we do not know the true limits of. We can interpret the limits of our world, physically, emotionally, morally all we want. We may know what the extremes are, what is farthest away from the dividing line, but the closer we get to the dividing line, the more we debate about what the universal truth is. I have no problem with there being a universal truth, and I accept as human beings we cannot truly know where that truth lies in black and white because we interpret things differently based on our understanding and experience of the world. When people say that god will judge us based on the universal truth when it is impossible for us to know where it lies as humans, I have a bit of a problem with that. That is like telling a child not to walk on the street but not telling them that you consider the sidewalk as part of the street. Some kids will assume all the concrete is the street and stay off, but some will consider everything past the curb the street and go on the sidewalk. So I don’t think god judges at all. I think we are here to experience both the good and bad of the world, know all aspects of both sides of the dividing line, the universal truth, and then show us how to live truly by that truth after we have learned it all. But that’s just me. ^_^

  2. Rana,
    I believe that your speaking of hypocrisy and judmentalism in the same post may get to the heart of the issue of judging others. When we judge others we are hypocrites, because we do the same things in one form or another. (Jesus said when we hate we commit murder in our hearts, and when we lust we commit adultery in our hearts) When God judges, He is not hypocritical, and therefore requires of those who follow Him to leave this judgment in His hands. Also, when we judge, we judge from the relative of ourselves. God judges from the absolute. When we judge we judge with imperfect knowledge and understanding. God is perfect in all these things. God does not judge from vindictiveness, but from an incredible and perfect objectivity. God must judge sin (sin is a corruption of what is good, and cannot coexist peacefully with the corruption), but God has no desire whatsoever to judge mankind. When we cling to sin we share sin’s fate. An important footnote to “Not judging” is that God fully expects us to judge sin, but not judge our brother in a way that wishes to see him condemned with it. (Because in that we judge ourselves, and being sinners ourselves, it is not our place. Judgment belongs uniquely to God) THAT kind of judgment is reserved for God, who after giving every opportunity (and did not spare His own Son in the cause), will judge with perfect knowledge against and with a perfect standard perfectly applied. For this reason we need a perfect sacrifice. Jesus said that He did not come to condemn the world, but to save it. (Indeed, it already stands condemned) This is God’s heart. But just as a drowning man is doomed if he will not take the life preserver we toss to him (No one can MAKE him take it), the sinner is condemned if he will not receive God’s provision.

*Insert your thought here*

