NaPoWriMo Day 20 – Cure #2

When I stand before you,
arms extended straight before me,
eyes closed before I
let myself fall, I expect, before the floor
comes to meet the back of my skull, you will stand before our friends

and smack my face, pushing me faster into the concrete.
Because we are friends.
And we’ll remember this forever.

This one is about trust. It doesn’t always have to be a positive trust, but an expectation another person will commit an action. It’s an odd concept to explain, but trust in the positive or negative expected actions of others creates a foundation of comfort. But what does this foundation mean to our socoety if established on negative expectations? Looking around me, I feel like most people make their foundation in a combination of the negative and a complete absense of trust. So how cpuld we change to make positive trust our foundation? Thoughts?

One thought on “NaPoWriMo Day 20 – Cure #2

  1. I recall in college days it was popular to fall backwards without breaking your fall and trust another to catch you before you hit. (Feels pretty freaky) One day, a bunch of us were doing this in a dorm room. I stood behind a girl to catch her, and just before she started to fall back, another person started talking to me. I said to the girl, “Hold on a second, Gretchen”, but she didn’t hear me. Then I looked over in horror to see her fall straight back and slam to the floor! (I did manage to quickly get my hand behind her head to absorb the worse of it for her just before she hit) She was Ok, but I hope I didn’t ruin her trust for life in this “trust exercise”.

*Insert your thought here*

