NaPoWriMo Day 19: Cure #1

 

“…From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remember’d;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother…”

 

I know, this is kind of cheating, but I don’t know how to write a poem about comradery, and this song, when sung during Band of Brothers and that quote from Henry V have all the imagery I want to convey. So I’m going to cop out this time, and the next cure will be my own.

 

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 19: Cure #1

  1. Yes, people are easily united when fighting together with the same enemy, but it is too trivial. You/we definitely talk/think here about uniting all members of our human race what a priori eliminates this ‘final solution’. So, who/what does represent the biggest danger for us/people worth of war? UFO/Satan/Crazy rulers/conspiring groups etc or typical human weaknesses/temptations? Such paths were already explored for ages and can be named as classical. Let’s focus our attention on something unique that can be enlightening our bored/uninspired/prosaic consumerist society. I believe in you, Rana that you can find it.

    • I’d say comradery is not merely a tool of the soldier. I simply have a great respect for soldiers. I don’t suppose it supports my usual perspective on the world, but it’s just the way I’ve always been. Comradery can spawn from any group environment, and from any commonality. The HALO video game series can actually attest to the idea that one commonality is all you need. The fact that humans can’t realize their humanity as a common cause is just a tragedy of human nature.

*Insert your thought here*

