True Religion vs. False Religion: An answer through my perspective

First, a disclaimer: Just because I write about some old, cultist religion like Gnosticism, does not mean I’m planning on following it as a religion. My interest in other religions, dead or otherwise, is simply a personal interest in finding god in all religions, and so far I have not come up with a religion that does not have god somewhere in it. So for the record, unless the beginning of my train of thought does not start with something like, “I believe…” then whatever I’m talking about in terms of religion is simply speculation and “What if…” thinking. Questions? Okay, to the main event.

A good friend from college sent me a question, inspired by my prior religion posts. He asked, “Is there a distinguishing mark(s) between true and false religion, if any, from your perspective?” So, here you go!

Blunt answer: None.

Extended Answer: To begin, I’m using the definition of religion as a group of people who share the same core beliefs, and likely in turn faith, in their creator. Keep in mind, it does not need to be a society-approved, institutionalized religion. I could stop here and say that, according to the definition, so long as a group of people bring themselves together through a common belief in a creator, it is technically a true religion, and that the only way for a religion to be false is if the group calls itself a religion but does not center their beliefs around a creator. But that isn’t the answer my friend is looking for, so I’m going to give a legitimate answer.

Now, let’s go back for a moment to how I see god; a being of neutrality and omnipotence, which created all aspects of our lives and created all in love. Love is the balance of mind and spirit, establishing a feeling far beyond what humans consider ‘love.’ God’s love incorporates trust at its core, trust in us to live our lives as we like on this earth. its love does not incorporate jealousy, which would bring it out of its nature in neutrality and cause a hostility within it. In the same way it does not love us as we comprehend love, choosing one of us over another of us. This also includes its love for all its creations, and so we are no better or worse than any other animal on this planet, any plant, any star in the sky, any other creature in any other plane of existence god may have created in its time. We as humans simply have given ourselves the extra task of trying to comprehend god in this life, instead of having the patience to come to understand it in a time when it shows itself fully to us. Whether that is a ‘good thing’ or not, I will not get into.

If we look at our lives in the way I described the loving parent and the college child in A long, long post on what I base my life on, we see a god which does not opening interfere with our lives, but simply lets us use the knowledge it has given us to make our own way through life. It is not in harshness or cruelty that god does this, but in trust that we are its creation and can manage. It is the same with all creatures. Again, we simply have a harder time of it because we are given a different level of knowledge. Because of this, and because of our distorted (although not bad or wrong) idea of love, we search for reasoning behind god leaving us to our own devices in this world. Instead of living our lives and enjoying our gifts to the fullest, we distract ourselves with trying to be with god in the life, when that is not the point of this life. This distraction is religion.

Before I continue, I know I need another disclaimer. First off, this is all my opinion. I could be wrong. Everything I’m saying could be bullshit. But it’s what I believe, and I’m sticking to it. Second, I am not saying that religion is bad. I’m not saying that we are bad people, or stupid people, for establishing and relying on church in our lives. It may come off that I think people are weak because they follow a church. Although I cannot really honestly say that that’s not what I’m getting at, I don’t want people to take that as a negative. Religion brings people to a partial understanding of god. There’s nothing wrong with that. I believe that god put us here so that we could enjoy its other gifts to us without worrying about god, that this life is a time to experience, and it has nothing to do with this minute amount of time we have. If we seriously want god to interfere, I don’t think it will ignore us, but for the most part it will leave us be. The constant ‘calls’ if you will, from religious people are not ignored, but left until god is sure we have exhausted our own possibilities without it first. This is why there are so many in Christian faith who find ‘God’ at their lowest point in life.

Okay, I’m going to reel myself back a little. That was getting into a tangent. My point is, religion is created to find god in our lives today, in a way that is palatable for the group of people interested in finding god at the time the religion is created. We look around at all the aspects of our world and try to piece together what god is. We use visuals to create an image of god we do not know, to feel more comfortable about god in regards to our senses. We give god a name, so it seems more solid. We give it a gender so that it can hold a strong and acceptable place in our society. We sometimes make many gods, because some cannot comprehend that one entity could create or govern all the cosmos, or because there are so many commanding entities in the world, how could we choose just one to represent god itself? We give god emotions, so we can anticipate how god will react to us and how we live; so we can feel comfort in knowing we are doing the ‘right thing’ in its eyes and our enemies are not; so we can justify our own actions; and so we can position god within our society as a leader figure. We call god above us, but make it one of us at the same time.

Let me restate that there is nothing wrong with all this. It is human nature to want to be close to its creator, is a blessing and curse upon us all. Some people embrace the blessing and some despise the curse. But when we look at the core of religion, this is all it is; a call out to know god. God, as the loving being it is, knows that we will come to know it in later life, after our experiences here are over. Because of this, god allows us to interpret it in our own way, and that is where the many religions, institutionalized or not, come from. We interpret the little aspects of god that we hold closest in our lives and inflate them into something that many people can relate to. Some people live their whole lives for religion, and sometimes they dedicate their lives to the wrong aspects of those religions. You can suggest examples of your own, if you like. I will give none, as I do not want to seem like I am targeting any one religion over another.

In all this, we see that, as social beings, we need structure, and society-approved values, to feel accepted and secure. Religion gives people that. It gives them a miniature society in which to believe without fear, because they are in numbers. It takes courage and strength to believe in the whole religion, especially when there is turmoil within, or aspects you do not completely agree with. But to me, all religions, true or false, are real religions, and have a piece of god in them somewhere. Since it is our nature to want to know it, we find that piece of god no matter how long it takes. Sometimes we do not realize that is the piece we were looking for, and sometimes we never realize it. But we do find it, and carry it with us for the rest of our days. And that piece may be different for you than it is for another person. Remember, god created everything, and so god is in everything, and so in every piece of every religion. It just depends on which piece best fits you and your life.

I don’t really have anything else to say about this except that people will likely have to say, “But Rana! Some religions are evil! They make you do evil things! How can those religions have god?!” Well, because god does not mean ‘good.’ God means neutral. If god were good, than evil must have existed as a separate thing from god, and so god would not have been the beginning and omnipotent. And if nothing existed before god, than there is no such thing as the absence of god, and so again, no evil. Good and evil are pure perspective, and both creations of god which it leaves us here to experience, along with everything else. This isn’t a ticket to go do evil things, as I’ve said before. Along with this, there’s the typical answer we hear all the time; didn’t the Catholic Church commit the Crusades? There are many religions which existed to give sacrifice, human and otherwise, for their gods. Even Judaism had the tradition of killing livestock and doves for god in their time. Are these not considered bad things to do? But the religions themselves are not considered evil. It is all perspective. There are people who think what I’m writing right now is blasphemous and evil, but I don’t think so. And there are those who would agree with me. Just because one person says something is evil doesn’t mean everyone on the planet is going to agree. Even Hitler thought he was in the right during World War II, and he convinced others to believe the same. Any religion can be good or evil depending on the perspective of the person. So no, there is no such thing as a good religion or an evil religion. It is simply the religion that the person feels most comfortable in. The aspect of good and evil have nothing to do with it.

5 thoughts on “True Religion vs. False Religion: An answer through my perspective

  1. In your friend’s question whether there is a distinguishing mark between true religions and false, I have lots of questions for you. Does God reveal? Has He revealed? How does He reveal? Under what conditions does He reveal, and Are we responsible for what He reveals? In other words, if I tried to please my wife while we were dating by buying her beef jerky simply because I like it, my intentions may have been good, but if you knew my wife, she hates it (on so many levels – because it is junk food and also hates the taste! In fact, if she were God, I would say that beef jerky would be an abomination to her, even though I love it!) I would have tried to please her with this only in my ignorance. Now once she clearly expresses to me that she does not like it – in fact she outright says she hates it – am I being loving to keep “sacrificing it to her” 🙂 anyway? I would say that with revelation and knowledge comes responsibility. Now consider the issue of God’s conditions for revealing Himself to us. Would you give out your identity to someone you were persuaded would only misuse it? Do you share personal information with people who will only mock you for it? Next, if I love my wife, would I not also care about what pleases her, or would I just shove on her whatever I feel like giving her? Would this not apply to God as well?

    Question regarding God being neutral and God being love. Is love neutral, or is death the ultimate of neutrality? The dead raccoon on the road does not care one way or another about anything. I’d say he is truly and supremely neutral in his dead state. Nothing bothers it. It has no passion, no desire, no anger, no nothing! God is not neutral. God cares and love cares!

    I am in agreement that God loves all equally. What I do not believe is the idea that we all please Him equally. I love my children all equally. They do not all please me equally at all times. Also, I am not neutral toward them. They give me joy, and they anger me – both springing from the same root of love. If I didn’t care about them, they would not make me angry.

    In your statement, “I could stop here and say that, according to the definition, so long as a group of people bring themselves together through a common belief in a creator, it is technically a true religion, and that the only way for a religion to be false is if the group calls itself a religion but does not center their beliefs around a creator.”, so long as the beliefs are centered on the Creator – in reality, not in presumption, I can agree with you. Where does the idea of objective reality come into play here? In other words, not knowing does not equal truth. Neither does belief make reality. We do, however, act on our beliefs (Which may bring us to understand reality!) For instance, if you and I are standing at the precipice of the New River gorge, and if I do not believe that a rope bridge will hold me, I won’t cross. If you believe it will hold you, you may try it. Reality may prove your belief (and you cross safely), but you do not make that reality. This is a good place to consider also that we are free to have ideas, but all ideas do not have equal merit. Ideas have consequences. In this case – either that you get across safely, or fall to your death. My belief that it will not hold has consequences also. I am confined to this side of the gorge. I would submit to you that the objective reality of what we place our faith in makes all the difference in the world.

    When you said, “we are no better or worse than any other animal on this planet, any plant, any star in the sky, any other creature in any other plane of existence god may have created in its time.” If I believed this, I would not only refuse to eat animals, but vegetables as well. Either this, or I would feel free to kill every human being who got in my way. (As did Hitler, whom you mentioned)

    Regarding “We as humans simply have given ourselves the extra task of trying to comprehend god in this life, instead of having the patience to come to understand it in a time when it shows itself fully to us” I would pose this question: If this task of comprehending God in this life is not critical, why is it that every culture throughout the world seeks to? In fact, Rana (and I very much say this to your credit), you seem to me to be intensely in search of God, reality, and truth. I believe this is man’s ultimate. Why am I here? What is my purpose? What is my destiny? I believe God built those questions into us. In Ecclesiastes 3:10-11 it says, “I have seen the God-given task with which the sons of men are to be occupied. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.” We were made with questions of eternity in our hearts. When you said in your one post, “OKAY! So the religious babble is being put to the side…”, I thought, “Don’t say that! Don’t minimize what is obviously very, very important to you!” I cannot think of anything that is more important. In fact, I would say in comparison, most of what we all run around doing and talking about is babble in comparison.

    Regarding God “not openly interfering in our lives”, do you see it as interference? When your parents, or your boyfriend come to see you, are they interfering? Do you say, “Hey, why don’t you just leave me alone? If God were an oppressive God, I would agree. What we may interpret as “interference” may be from our lack of understanding.

    Regarding “living our lives and enjoying our gifts to the fullest”, can a life that is not in active partnership with God be lived to the fullest?

    Regarding “Everything I’m saying could be bullshit.” Well… (Just kidding!)
    You mentioned that these are the things you believe, and you are sticking to it. So long as you really believe these things (and I am not questioning that), by being single minded and walking consistently with those beliefs, you are more likely to get REAL feedback. (Those who are double-minded get confused feedback)

    Re: God “leaving us be”. Why would you see this as better than His involvement? (And again, with my old religious ideas of God’s kind of involvement pumped into me by the same initial church upbringing you had, I can hardly blame you!) Rather than the idea of God preferring to “leave us be” unless we really insist on having to have Him involved in our lives, I would suggest to you the reverse – that He very much wants to be involved in our lives, but will “leave us be” out of respect for us if we insist. “Love is not rude”. Remember also, that being “left to our own devices” has consequences as well. We can tour New York City alone in the dark if we wish. The guide will not force himself upon us, though he would likely plead with us to accept his guidance, even as God does.

    I agree with you that all religions that originate from man are equal, and from my perspective, equally worthless, and some more destructive than others. I would also agree that there are smatterings of truth within some. To the extent that they match God’s reality, they will be helpful. (Not necessarily to salvation, but whenever we embrace an eternal truth, it will benefit us in some way) To the extend that they do not, they are WORSE than no religion. I’d rather have no map, than a wrong map! Even worse, is one that is kind of close, mentions the same places as the real map, but fundamentally off. I believe that all false religion has a mixture of truth and error. If I wanted to deceive you, I would use subtlety to distort the truth, rather than tell you a blatant lie.
    I agree with you that much religion that comes out of man is based on self-justification, and consider this the height of pride, and the height of what offends God. I believe that religion based on man is highly offensive to God. But belief based on God will produce humility in us. For this reason we must go back to what God reveals of Himself, and not make ourselves the center of it at all.
    Regarding wanting to be close to our creator “being both a blessing and a curse to us all”. The “curse” part is only because of our fallen state. To get near a holy God in a fallen state is problematic for us. We desire Him, but become aware of our own evil as we draw near Him, and therefore prefer distance and darkness. I believe that in the biblical model, God removes this dividing wall of hostility – not by glossing over our sin, but by removing it, along with the guilt, the striving, etc. Salvation is about a new position in respect to God. God affirms us and validates in our inmost being, being cleansed once and for all from sin. From here, we relate to God without fear, without guilt, and with intimacy like a child with its father – with no consciousness of sin and guilt whatsoever. Our behavior changes because we have fundamentally changed (being born again) We do good works because our new nature DESIRES to please God, not in order to secure His approval (We already have it through the finished work of His Son) Distance may solve the issue of the intensity of guilt, while introducing a new problem – distance. False religion attempts to draw near to God through never-ending striving for God’s approval. In Christ, we cease from our own works, cease from our striving, and enter into His rest, and into a deep, personal, and very real relationship with God as God had intended from the beginning. God is perfect, and we either relate to Him through perfect justification through His Son, or not at all.

    You said that when we find a “piece” of God, we “carry it with us for the rest of our days”. This is certainly true. Question: Why not search for the rest of the pieces, if it is so valuable that we carry it for the rest of our lives? Our main quest as human beings is to seek God in a dark world.

    Again, regarding the idea that God must have evil within Himself along the good, I strongly refute that. (And why would you EVER, and HOW could you ever trust a god that is partly good and partly evil – who just might have a cruel streak to him, who might give you some joy in heaven, then one day turn around and terrorize you! If you believe that all evil ultimately came from God, that would mean that God could do to you any and all of the evils you’ve ever seen or heard about to you! God is good. Period. Evil is the result when free beings turn from the source of all life and goodness. As I said before, evil is a corruption of what God made good. God allows for that corruption because we cannot have a free will if we cannot choose “not God”. But”not God” just happens to bring with it corruption, as “not breathing” brings death, and not eating, starvation, and not controlling our car brings an accident.
    You said that Hitler THOUGHT he was right in World War II. But WAS he? His beliefs had evil consequences both for the world and for himself. Right and wrong does not center in man, but in God. In each of us, there are wrongs that we find just abhorrent, and other ones we think are not so bad. The key is not to operate from our own valuation of sin but God’s. We do not have sufficient perspective to understand the consequences. How many kids start smoking and really believe they will still be smoking when they’re sixty?
    You said, “So no, there is no such thing as a good religion or an evil religion. It is simply the religion that the person feels most comfortable in. The aspect of good and evil have nothing to do with it.” Do you really believe that? Is it about our comfort? There is no external standard? How comfortable did Adolph Hitler make 6 million Jews in his belief system?
    Anyway, I appreciate your thought-provoking posts, and your quest for understanding. Hope my probing feels challenging, but not as a put down. You seem to be avidly seeking truth. I very much appreciate your hosting this conversation.

    • Another great set of questions/observations, Greg. I’ll try to go through them in order.

      On revealing: honestly, (and I usually don’t like doing this kind of thing) but I have only another question to answer you with here. Why does it matter? Why should we have to understand when, why, and how god decides to reveal itself to us in this lifetime? And again, I ask you try to think in this way as if this world is not the end-all of our experience. A lot of your discussion in this last comment focuses on this world and what we do in it being that last we have to ‘show our true colors’ as it were, and so everything depends on what we do here. I agree that with knowledge comes responsibility, and there is nothing that says we shouldn’t try to take on that responsibility even in this life. But I don’t feel like this one short life is the only place we get that chance to be responsible. In fact, I don’t think god truly expects us to take it on in this life at all, only if we see fit to do so. People do, and they are the great leaders of our time, and it is great that they are so strong. But we are not all so fortunate. I’ll elaborate more in a different response.

      In regards to love and neutrality, it is hard to explain my perception of these things in words. I have been trying, but it does not seem to be coming off properly. The idea is that god’s love is unconditional in a way that humans have a hard time understanding. The idea of a loving neutrality is not the non-existence of love and caring, but the ultimate love, a love beyond jealousy, anger, passion, etc. Not that god’s love for us is not ‘passionate,’ but that there are no conditions behind that passion. All of god’s energy goes into that love, and that makes it a fueling passion, and that passion is what creates us, and keeps the world going. Neutrality is not nothing, it is the perfect balance of everything, melded together in the perfect balance that only god has accomplished. In creating us, it created imbalance, and over time, it teaches us how to balance it all, good, evil, anger, happiness, etc. into a perfect circulation, which is what god is and what its love is.

      In believing that god loves all equally, and that this love is completely unconditional, than god is satisfied with the most minute attempts we make to understand and be part of it. Remember, our existence here is to experience all of god’s other creations (in my perspective), and so I say that it is not that god does not care about what we do here, but that the things we do here affect us, not our relationship with god.

      I completely agree that is it all objective reality, and so there are consequences. I simply hold to the idea that, despite the consequences, there is nothing wrong with following your own reality to its own end. And I don’t feel that god would judge someone for that either. If everyone knew the proper objective reality, we’d have no point of being here, existing as our own person. This is what the religions of the world are for, to develop objective realities, all right in their own respect, in some aspect of them at least, so that all people can follow god in a way that they understand and believe in their own heart.

      Discussing the other creations of god, I don’t say this as if that is how we should exist, I say this as what the possible perspective of god is. I think god does not put one creature on a pedestal above other creations. How we decide to rank ourselves among the creations in this world is our own choice, just like any other choice.

      On your discussion of comprehending god in this life, I believe I covered all of that with the section on the blessing and the curse. It is in our nature to want to be close to god, to question the unknown and demand answers, either from the source or from ourselves if we can’t find them anywhere else. And perhaps all the other things we do in the life are ‘babble in comparison,’ but still, to me the religious babble is not meant for this life, but the life after. Again, we have eternity to live closer to god and know it, question it, etc. It has given us this life as a gift to experience all the wonders it has created. This is the time when we are blessed with the opportunity to live under our own influence.

      I agree, the word interfere is not the right word for that section. But I don’t think there is another word which properly fits. I think it is more that god wants us to try to stand on our own feet for a moment. If we fall and ask it to catch us, it likely will. But again, the point of this life is to experience and learn from its other creations.

      About living our lives to the fullest, I believe that yes, it can, keeping in mind that this life is meant to be lived for learning god’s creations, and through them, god itself.

      I always do have a problem writing that statement (that I could be wrong). I seem to get more negative, stubborn feedback from people who criticize my views when I don’t put that kind of disclaimer in. The idea is that I’m willing to hear other people’s ideas, not that I have no strength in my own beliefs. It is hard to portray that without either looking indecisive or looking like I have no interest in the ideas of others.

      I also agree with your idea of god wanting to be involved with our lives. But again, in my perspective, we are not here in this life to be directed by god. If we look for its guidance, it is more than willing to lend a hand, but only after we have exhausted all of our own devices. It is just like your coming to know god. You exhausted all of your own resources and god decided you did need a push and you asked for that push. I believe that most of the things you now accomplish are of your own accord, that god set you on the right path and then let you be. You are so enamored with god’s touch, though, that you do not give yourself the credit you deserve. Not that god does not deserve credit, but that god does not want credit for what you can do as a person. You have strength of your own, and you can’t take that for granted. God did not create you as a dependent child who never leaves the house. You have come out into the wide world that god has created for you to explore, and in this place, you are allowed to take some credit for what you are.

      It is not about being the center of attention, but making things graspable to us that makes religions so human-based and fragile. You speak of false religion as striving for god’s approval while Jesus gives rest and peace of mind. This rest is the neutrality I’m trying to convey. I see nothing wrong with interpreting god as good and so striving to be good in god’s name. It makes people happy and makes those around them happy. In this life, the creation of happiness is a way to avoid the other side of the balance, avoid evil and strife, but it also causes that evil to arise later on; the scales have to tip back sometime. Finding a calm center, whether you want to call it Jesus’ love, the balance of ying and yang, balance in chi, etc. doesn’t matter. This balance, this calm, is god’s neutrality, the perfect serenity, which is warm when you are cold, cool if you are burning up, the simple middle of it all, where everything comes to a point.

      That one piece of god we find is not a piece of a bigger puzzle that we need to find the other pieces to. It is the last piece of ourselves which is missing. We are the almost complete puzzle, and that piece makes us whole. Sometimes it is a very little piece which is missing, and sometimes it feels like half of ourselves is gone.

      And I still don’t think you’re getting the idea of good and evil from my perspective. It is not that god is part good and part evil. God is neither. God is the middle, the neutral peace that existed before good and evil surrounded it. I can trust that balance, that middle, because although it is the origin of the opposites around it, god is the only thing can work outside of those opposing forces. It is the only sanctuary from good and evil, from the imbalance of the world. Again, there are nothing but god at the beginning. Otherwise, god would not be the beginning, the omnipotent. Therefore, there is no ‘not god.’ Yes Hitler thought he was right and everyone else thought he was wrong, and his actions brought about great evil. But the popes of the church brought on the Crusades, and that caused mass devastation too. Many actions of good men have brought about great sadness, death, and evil. The bombs at Hiroshima and Nagasaki are prime examples. They may have stopped more chaos, but were their own chaos to being with. So who is in the right? It is, again, perspective. That doesn’t mean I can’t judge whether I think someone is right or wrong, but I must accept that I make that judgment under my own perspective, and that others will think differently.

      And your questions are not a put down in the least. Simply a way for me to finally get all these thoughts and beliefs out in the open instead of in my head all this time. 🙂 It’s a lot of fun.

  2. Yea, I have a day job as a writer, but I like to focus on my creative writing after work whenever I can.

    Whenever I read Western interpretation of Eastern religion I tend to see that dark side appear. I usually just read the direct translation of texts like the Bhagavad Gita and such, stick with the scripture aspect and don’t worry about the different explanations. I knew a few people in college who were raised as Buddhists, and learned a lot from them and how they balanced their Eastern beliefs with how Western people interpreted their beliefs without knowing anything about it. Again, I find good and bad aspects of all religions.

    Very amazing stories. Don’t really have anything to comment, as I’ve known people with similar stories and known people who have never had an experience like that in their lives despite long connections with ‘God’ and the church (Catholic and other denominations). Different people have different kinds of relationships with god, which is another reason why I believe god is comfortable with giving us our space. My Nana is a very loving and devote person. She has a spiritual bond with ‘God’ and the church that I hold in much higher regard than my mother’s relationship with the church. She has gone through decades of hardship with a very difficult man, who I can’t even say she was married to. They had rings, they lived in the same house, and yet there was no relationship there, and the way she was raised the circumstances she lived under, she had no choice through it all but to accept it. He passed away a couple months ago and she has had the opportunity to control the spending in her life, when she can go out with her friends, and I truly feel and hope that she is happier for it. She has held to her relationship with ‘God’ as a rock in the storm, and yet I know from talking to her about such things that she has never has this kind of transcendent moment. And she’s okay with that. The relationship she has with ‘God’ is just what she needs in her life, no more, no less. I believe that god is just as comfortable with this relationship as she is, looking at god from the perspective I do. Anyway, just a little tangent on god and its relationship with individual people.

    As for the religious babble comment (the first one I made), that is more along the lines of discussing religion versus faith and belief. I hold a very strong line between religion and a person’s faith and belief in god. Although religion has its place as a foundation for many, it is the faith and belief which matters, not the religion, at the core of it all. People mistake that far too much, defending religions and marring the image of their faith and belief at the same time. It aggravates me when people do not make that distinction, that’s all. I’d rather discuss faith and belief, as I have been with you. So your discussion to me is more on your path to faith, not your path to or from a religion, and that’s not babble at all. 🙂

  3. By the way, figure I’d warn you, if you decide to see what I’ve been up to on Yahoo, I went very blunt and short-tempered on a couple people, especially on a gay marriage comment I read and couldn’t help but reply to. Not my usual tone in the discussion of religion, but this guy was just as blunt and rude, so I figured I’d speak his language for a bit. Just a heads up. 😛

  4. Wow, this is a very deep discussion of religion. I have written a trilogy titled, The Chosen One of Allivar. I do not go into lengthy narrative of religion, just about faith and goodness. My first nine chapters are devoted to the creation story and early history of my universe. Instead of crating an entirely separate work, like the Silmarillion, I blended the history in with many clues that will be revealed in the 3rd book. This will require a reader to red carefully. In the end, I hope readers will rethink faith versus religion, so that religious institutions can no longer spoil faith. I also do not explain why the creator, the Unseen, declared the main character the Chosen One. This should really get people thinking.

    I left open in those first nine chapters, the possibility of 16 more stories, which dives in deeper to the history. I am now completing the 4th book, The Fall of Helloria as the first book of the “Chronicles” as a further exploration into the interaction of good and evil both in the physical and ethereal worlds.

*Insert your thought here*

