A new writing prompt? Another challenge!

Well everyone, at least the first installment of String Warping for Homosexuals seemed to go very well.  Writing prompt pieces have always been fun for me, and my more humorous pieces to boot.  So I have found another prompt, this time from a great group I follow on Twitter called The Masquerade Crew.  As the link says, this prompt is a draw from H.G. Wells’ The Time Machine.  I’d love to see what ideas any of you may have, or if anyone else would be interested in joining me in this prompt!  I even have a few extra guidelines for you all to try.  Here is the original prompt. Very simple and straight forward.

In the spirit of H.G. Well’s “The Time Machine,” one character or a group of characters travel many years into the future. What do they find there? Are they able to come back home, or are they trapped? What has become of mankind? Is life better or worse? What’s the political climate? The real climate? (IOW mother nature) The choices are up to you.

Seems very limitless, doesn’t it?  Here’s some ways to narrow your thinking if you’d like to join in.

  • A random animal (pet, wild, whatever) goes with them to the future.
  • At some point, the time travel device malfunctions.  (Not that original a prompt, I know, but some very original ideas can come from the simple prompt.)
  • The person/people think they are in the future when really they are in the past. (A reference to the sad lack of history education I seem to run into every bloody day around here.)
  • The story is narrated as the character(s) are time traveling, not after they have made it to their destination.
  • And, for more fun and in celebration of St. Patty’s Day, write your story as a drinking song. 😀

 

I will be revealing my submission later. I’m going to check to see if it will be alright to post the story while it’s in judging, but I’m thinking it’ll be okay. And that is all with that little shindig.

On another note, I haven’t gotten any response about going with my Elaseim novel versus working on the apocalypse story.  After some time, though, I think I’m going to stick with the Elaseim for a while.  I’ve gotten a few reviews/comments/critiques (THANK YOU JJ!!) on my chapters, and I’m looking forward to starting the drafts of my actual manuscript.  Might bounce back and forth depending on the day, but most likely I’ll keep with the Elaseim for now.

And with that I bid you all a good night. I’m going to give Luke and Rog a break tonight, although the foam monkeys are getting bubbly goodness all over Luke’s good shirt, so I’m sure he’s not happy about that.  Too bad.  I hope everyone is enjoying my little flash fiction series so far.  Seriously, if you like it or you hate it or you really just aren’t interested in it, I’d love to know.  I’m having fun with it, but I don’t want to waste blog space if no one else likes it.  Just drop a little note.  I don’t get offended about anything, I promise.  ^_^ (If you didn’t get that from my last post.)  Until tomorrow!

 

~S. Virginia Gray

*Insert your thought here*

